The Spiderwick Chronicles Review by Megan Derr

The Spiderwick Chronicles

by Megan Derr

Spiderwick is a kid movie about a book that contains untold amounts of information about the various inhabitants of the Fae world—information that the villain of the movie desperately wants, and is willing to take at any cost. There are other veins to the plot, just as important, but this is the basic premise.

The movie is a lot of fun, for many reasons: characters, story, visuals (whatever flaws may be there, for the most part the special effects etc are still fun). It also does a very good job of pulling in themes/ideas/elements that closely tie to the fae world.

One of my favorite elements is the one I feel is given a strong nod by way of the twins Simon and Jared. Simon is the good kid who gets along with the rest of his family. Jared is the exact opposite sit and does not get along with his family at all. In the face of the troubles the family is facing (divorce, though it’s more complicated than that) he is definitely the odd man out. This dynamic is, I feel, a nod to the notorious idea of changelings. It makes Jared the perfect fit for catalyst to all that happens in the movie.

Then of course you have Arthur Spiderwick, who is responsible for the book and all that happens because of it. He is a victim of the fae (for reasons I won’t spoil), but he is also the one who sacrificed much of his life for knowledge, and eventually paid a price he did not appreciate until too late.

The movie is rife with many more elements of this nature, showing a high attention to detail. It serves as not just a fun movie with deeper lessons about family, it conveys the world of the fae in a suitable bittersweet way, conveying lessons on knowledge, pride, and what those things might ultimately cost us if we are not careful.

Fae are not humans, and their world is very different than ours, and this movie (and, I presume, the books on which they are based) teach this lesson of caution very well.

A movie worth seeing—it conveys many lessons without leaving the viewer weighed down by them as I think would be the case if this movie were given a more adult audience treatment.


Writing and reading are my life. I’m pretty equal opportunity, there is very little I do not like to read. But, I think it’s safe to say that romance and fantasy are my primary stopping grounds :3 I love writing slash, it works for me in a way that writing other things never did. Past that, I’m all over the board – fantasy, supernatural, contemporary, space operas, you name it.

Outside of those primary obsessions, I love coffee, chocolate, and crime shows. I watch more NCIS than is healthy. Writing is my favorite thing to do, but when I’m not doing that I like to cook, bake, and pretend I know how to use photoshop.

I have two roommates, and six cats.

Military brat born and raised, and that shows in every part of me. My parents are former Marines, and I have two sisters and a brother. I love my family, and their support in my writing and publishing endeavors means everything to me.

Currently I live in North Carolina. My long term goal is a beach house, complete with cabana boy. –Megan Derr

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carollanham
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 10:18:31

    Does this film have a great movie poster or what?! I’m with Megan, the twins were one of my favorite elements in the story. Pretty fascinating stuff all the way around. This review made me want to watch it all over again. Been a while for me.

    Reply

  2. Jess
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 18:47:54

    I’ve never seen this movie or read the book, but interesting to find out what it was all about.

    Reply

  3. tracykitn
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 22:18:32

    I really need to watch this sometime; my middle child swears it’s a horror movie, which means it’s probably right up his (younger) brother’s alley. Except that I tend to have nightmare problems myself. I *still* get them after seeing Bambi as a child (don’t judge! I know I am a weenie, & I’m pretty much OK with it.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

