What is it about Tinkerbell?

Today, in re last night’s film, Hook, we have author Lisa Kessler. We’ve been giving the sweeter side of the fae a little bit of flack, so they definitely need some defense–

Then again, Tink isn’t all that sweet, either. Take it, Lisa!

What is it about Tinkerbell?

 by Lisa Kessler

Tinkerbell was my first introduction to the Fae.  In spite of her non-speaking role in Disney’s Peter Pan, she became my favorite character.  I loved her expressive face.  She didn’t need to have a human voice to get her point across.

And she had pixie dust!

Tinkerbell is also one of my earliest memories of true magic.  With her help, a happy thought could transform you and magically you could fly.   Anything was possible as long as you believed.

Magic.

In 1991, my daughter was born.  I slept less, worked more, paid bills, and felt like a real grown-up…

Thankfully, Hook came out that same year!

It had a great tagline…  What if Peter Pan grew up?

In the movie, our wily Pan had grown into a timid accountant, and as he grew up he forgot his childhood in Neverland.  He’d even forgotten his best friend, Tinkerbell.

The movie, Hook, did something very controversial at the time.  They gave Tinkerbell a voice.  Julia Roberts played the spunky faerie.  I enjoyed her portrayal.  I thought her bright smile radiated magic and balanced the over-the-top evil of Dustin Hoffman’s Captain Hook.

And when I saw that movie, it re-awakened the kid inside of me, and my love for magic.  And pixie dust! 🙂

I think Roald Dahl said it best – “Above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

When did I stop believing?

As I writer, I enjoy toying with “what ifs”.  What if the Fae lived among us, but we didn’t see them because we didn’t believe?  What if they needed our faith to power their magic?  If we slipped into Neverland, would we recognize the magic of our youth?  Or would we be clumsy and weighted down by adult logic?

If you haven’t seen Hook before, or if it’s been a few years, rent it on Netflix or Amazon*.  It’s well worth watching, and the magic still holds up even though it came out twenty years ago!  (Ugh, that made me feel REALLY old!  Yeek!)

After Disney released the animated, Peter Pan, Tinkerbell quickly became the symbol of “The Magic of Disney”.  Before every film, she still flies over the castle, dousing it with pixie dust.  And every time she does, on some level, we sit back in the theater and allow the magic to captivate us.  We believe.

Faith trust and pixie dust…  Magic!


Lisa has a new eBook Short Story available now.  Across the Veil tells the story of Princess Talia from Summerland.  Hiding across the veil in the human world for the past five years, she now stars in a hit television show as human actress, Natalie Thurmont.

But her charmed new life is shattered when the past comes knocking on her door.

Book TrailerMore info

 *Ed note: All our Fae Awareness movies appear in the dropbox the night before at least: http://db.tt/x7Ir0U1. Please use it responsibly, for viewing purposes only!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Kessler
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 18:02:01

    Thanks for inviting me to talk about one of my most favorite things… Magic! 🙂

    Fae Rock!

    Lisa 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Fae Awareness: The End and Index « Fae Awareness Month

Leave a comment